Song Sunday – Yun Hi Chala Chal

I know you’re all sitting there DYING for me to post again. You’re all saying, “Where’s Hannah? It’s Song Sunday! I want my song!”

Okay, maybe not. So I probably don’t need to bother with the excuse that I left for church at 8:15 this morning, spent the entire afternoon at nursing home services, and visited a friend’s 3-hour class tonight. And I am wiped out. This comes not so much from everything I did, but because I wore the wrong pair of shoes. I love boots, but when you’re on your feet most of the day, they’re not the brightest idea. But, hey, I’m not known for my bright ideas.

But enough about me! Because I love you so much, here is a really nifty song from Swades. I think of this as the Hindi version of Life Is a Highway:

Some of the lyrics:

Keep roaming thus oh traveler
How beautiful this world is
How colorful this world is
These pathways call out to me and say
Somewhere someone’s waiting for you
Why is the heart restless
Who is it going to meet

What the heart most desired
Maybe that’s about to happen

Life is the vehicle and time is the wheel


The heart feels lightened
Like a burden lifted from the shoulders

Like the innocent childhood has come back
Like bathing in the ganges after a long time
(okay, you’ll never hear that in Rascal Flatts).


Wherever you go may you always find love

And blaze a path oh traveler.

Want to download it at Amazon? Go on. It’s by A. R. Rahman and Javed Akhtar, with Udit Narayan, Kailash Kher, and Hariharan singing, and it’s 89 cents! Why would you not download it?

1 Comment

  1. March 22, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    […] this week. It’s a powerful movie and a little different from your standard Bollywood fare. We already featured Yun Hi Chala Chal, but these two are, again, different. […]


Leave a Reply

