Stupid Saturday – Dus

(Stupid Saturday was postponed until Monday.)

Time for Dus! Whoohoo!

Hehehe. I don’t even know where to begin on this one. Dus (Ten) has more redeeming qualities to it than Humko Deewana Kar Gaye (namely, Sanjay Dutt, Abhishek Bachchan, and Sunil Shetty. I’ll watch anything with Sunil in it) and yet it was probably a worse movie. That in itself is pretty impressive, however.

I can’t quite decide if Dus is so bad it’s good. It’s right on the edge. For me, it just made it into the ‘good’ category, but I suspect for most people it would just be BAD.

If I’m correct, this was the first Bollywood action film I saw. Unless you count Tumko Na Bhool Payenge. I promise not to carry any prejudices about Hindi action movies because of this, but… lol. I think my favorite scene was when Abhi and Zayed Khan climb onto the roof of their bomb-rigged car, which then drives itself up a hill, around a curve, and onto a bridge; and they jump off into the water right before the car blows up.  Those agents have skillz!

Now you’re probably curious about the plot. Well, I was curious myself, and by the end of the movie, I was still curious. I’m not quite sure what happened. There was something about secret agents and double agents and terrorism and this guy named Jambwal and Canada and machine guns and ohmigosh does that ‘Pakistani’ guy have yellow hair AGAIN? (Sunil… word of advice, here. Angry protective male = working for you. Yellow highlights = not working for you).

I just read a plot summary on Wikipedia… They must have had a copy of the screenplay to write that, because I don’t think you could understand that just from watching the movie. I’m not sure I understood anything from watching the movie, except that a Ford Taurus station wagon is not a cool car. But I already knew that. It does have more of a plot than Humko Deewana Kar Gaye, so I give them points for trying.

However, this is Bollywood. We know they know how to do movies about terrorism. This just seems like a rip-off of any stupid American action film. So, I guess Bollywood can do terrorism movies well, and American rip-off movies well, but not at the same time.

I don’t know where else to go with this review… I would like to explain how it got to “so bad it’s good” but that’s kind of complicated. I think the moment I decided I liked it was when it became obvious that one of the characters had fallen in love with the wrong kind of person and so it was okay that they were going to have to sacrifice themselves for the good of the world. I think Amitabh Bachchan probably would have been proud… the ending allows everything to be as happy as possible. And if Big B is happy, I’m happy!

Speaking of the Bachchans, why did I ever think, “Oh, it has Abhi in it, it must be good!”? I must have been under the influence of something. Perhaps his dashing good looks? Perhaps. The cast also includes Sanjay Dutt, Zayed Khan, and Sunil Shetty as I mentioned before, along with Pankaj Kapoor, Shilpa Shetty and Esha Deol. It was released in 2005 and directed by Anubhav Sina. He also thought he should write the dialogue… Ooh, bad move. I’m not sure which one he is less capable of. It was produced by Kalim Khan.

The music is kind of catchy, but the dance scenes are the raunchy type they include just to sell tickets. The ‘skip’ button should be used accordingly.

So here’s the thing. It’s on Hulu. It’s astonishingly bad. But if you’re prepared for that, you’re willing to sit through it because it’s Bollywood,  and you just want to laugh yourself sick, go watch it!

Plus, who doesn’t love saying “Jambwal”?

Shilpa Shetty
1 Comment

  1. Sarah said,

    March 29, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    Haha. “Stupid Saturday was postponed until Monday”

    Apparently we have no more sense of time than the makers of Bollywood films. What does it matter what day it is?


Leave a Reply

