Mini review – Chup Chup Ke

A mini review is mini because it lacks that one thing I hate writing: a plot summary. That’s what Wikipedia is for!

Chup Chup Ke was released in 2006, produced by Ronnie Screwvala (poor guy) and directed by Priyadarshan. Priyadarshan is known for doing remakes (understatement of the year? He’s  made 64 films… 30 of which are remakes) and this is one of them, but I haven’t seen Punjabi House to be able to tell you if it’s better than this Bollywood update.

To tell the truth, Chup Chup Ke (English: Quietly) is not a film I could talk about for hours. Despite its wonderful cast (Sunil Shetty! Sunil Shetty! Sunil Shetty! Did I ever mention that I like Sunil Shetty?) and interesting plot, the movie suffers from horrible timing. The entire first half is spent on Rajpal Yadav and Paresh Rawal, and after about 10 minutes or so, I get tired of their crazy hijinks. I don’t mind them as comic relief, or even important side characters (like Rawal in Priyadarshan’s Hera Pheri) but I don’t think they needed this much screen time to themselves. Of course, if you like that kind of stuff, the first half of this film is for you.

The second half was better, but I don’t see how you could like both the first half and the second half. That’s another huge problem– the two parts of the movie are so entirely different. I suppose the person who could like both parts is out there, and I’m jealous of them! I really wanted to like this film.

Good stuff:

I thought I would be annoyed that Kareena is mute, because I love her voice, but she carried it off very well. I also loved Sunil as the protective older brother– I think he’s ideally suited to these types of roles. Om Puri always cracks me up, and it’s always a pleasure to see Manoj Joshi. Neha Dhupia was interesting as Kareena’s interpreter. Anupam always plays the disappointed father with skill, and Shahid was quite endearing and cute.

The sets and costumes were way cool. And I’d never seen Gujarat portrayed so positively.

The music is pretty catchy, and I’ll watch Dil Vich Lagaya over and over. And when Sunil carries Kareena on his shoulders in Ghoomar, I always go, “Aww!”

But all those positive things just weren’t enough. There was a reversal (and not a clever one)  literally three minutes before the end of the film. It’s okay to push things right up to the end, but there ought to be a chance for the audience to finally enjoy the happiness the characters are supposed to find, and I never felt like I had that opportunity.

That’s the big problem. It never satisfies you. You spend the whole first half waiting for the love story to begin. You spend the whole second half wishing everything would work out. In the end, I’m not sure if anyone is really happy. But at least Sunil looks good in a turban!* And just for that, it’s worth seeing once.

*Those things they wear only at weddings are a kind of turban, right? Also, notice how I made sure Sunil was in every photo I included. :P

1 Comment

  1. April 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    […] nitty-gritty: Directed by: Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Produced by: Ronnie Screwvala (remember him from Chup Chup Ke?) and Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Release date: February 2009 Music: A.R. Rahman is always excellent, […]


Leave a Reply

