Stupid Saturday – Shortkut: The Con is On

Okay, I hate to complain about Bollywood stuff, because I pretty much love it all, so when Hannah started Stupid Saturday I was skeptical. Since then I’ve thought of lots of things that fit nicely with Stupid Saturday, so you’ll probably hear from me pretty often on this day. Nonetheless, none of this should be taken to mean that I hate the stuff, only that it crosses the line from a little weird to what on earth? a bit too often.

So Shortkut stars Akshaye Khanna and Arshad Warsi, which ought (it really ought) to be a winning combination. It worked pretty well in Hulchul. But here? Nahin. The movie also was produced by Anil Kapoor, so it goes to show how people you trust can let you down.

Just look at that! What a nice movie poster! Akshaye, Amrita Rao, and Arshad all look very nice. Let’s just stop here.

Okay it’s not that bad. Shekhar (Akshaye) is a responsible assistant director who’s been working very hard to be prepared for the day when he branches out and directs a film himself. He and Mansi (Amrita Rao) are secretly seeing each other, but he doesn’t want anyone to know, because Mansi is a superstar, and he wants to stand on his own feet.

Raju (Arshad) is a junior artist who wants to be a superstar and is not particularly concerned with how he achieves this goal. He steals Shekhar’s prize script, and acts in that movie as the star. He instantly is a huge star.

Mansi and Shekhar get married. But Shekhar doesn’t want Mansi earning all the money and throws a fit. Mansi leaves.

Anyway the rest of the plot is concerned with getting back at Raju and getting Mansi back and stuff. I guess there’s a con, but . . . well, it’s not really all that important to what’s going on. If you want to see a fun con, watch Bluffmaster. This movie kind of drags on and on and then eventually you say “Hang on, THAT was the con?”

Oops. Did I just post a random picture of Baby B? Sorry guys. *cough* Moving on.

There are a certain amount of laughs involved in the film. Like Arshad hamming it up in a scene where his character tries to make up his own dialogues for the movie. But some of the time Arshad is hamming so much that even he doesn’t seem funny.

Amrita was pretty cute, and she and Akshaye made a good couple. Possibly the Shekhar-Mansi angle of the film might have made a good Bollywood film on it’s own if, well, if a lot of things were different. As it was, none of the subplots (and I’m not totally convinced there was a main plot) really went anywhere in particular.

Some of the songs were kind of good. But I sure didn’t appreciate the item number or whatever it was with Anil Kapoor and Sanjay Dutt. I mean, I like the actors a lot, but them in an item song with Amrita is just creepy. I hate to break it to you guys, but you’re kinda a little old. And you look old. No item songs for you.

Just don’t. Please. I mean, Sanju, I love you, but maybe you strutting around lip-synching to brilliant lyrics like “There’s a hole in mah heart blah blah blah” might not be the best way to present yourself. Sorry.

It’s also strange that apparently Paresh Rawal wanted the role of Raju. I guess there’s no accounting for tastes. Actually, I just cannot picture that. Sorry, Paresh, but I think Arshad’s better for this kind of thing.

Back to the music. Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy wrote it, so it can’t be too bad. *sigh* Um, I thought Mareeze Mohabbat would have been okay, if it didn’t constantly have the random “Oh yeah”s and the “there’s h-h-h-hole in mah heart” lyrics. But maybe not a lasting classic there.

Akshaye expresses my emotions on this movie perfectly

Patli Gali is fun. I do enjoy listening to it. Not linking to the video, just the song, because I’m not really a fan of tons of girls in skimpy outfits. Somehow it seems less than classy. Of course, it is fun to see Arshad dance. He was a dancer before he was an actor, you know.

Kyun Hota Hai Dil Dil Deewana is actually a good listen, catchy, upbeat, all that. I’m going to give some thought to buying this one. It is Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy, after all. And I am a huge fan of theirs.

And than there’s Kal Nau Baje. It’s a really pretty love song (something like “Tomorrow at nine, look at the moon and our eyes will meet there” or something like that), rendered nicely by Sonu Nigam and Alka Yagnik. Pretty much your classic standing-around-in-picturesque-places-type Bollywood song. I am totally confused by Amrita’s red dress (?) at the beginning of the video. WHAT is with THAT?

Anyway. I’m not going to say don’t see it, because I could very easily see myself watching it again, and enjoying it then too. But know what you’re getting.

Leave a Reply

